Beautiful Icy Strait Point at Hoonah Alaska

Great Visit

John H - Trip Advisor - July 8, 2013

The salmon fishing and tales of yesterday were fascinating,lots of historical artefacts to see,gifts galore,food and drinks available.

Love the Fact

Jaqi3 - Trip Advisor - July 6, 2013

We enjoyed meeting locals, being able to purchase locally made items, learn about culture, nature & spotting both Whales & Bears. A MUST on every Bucket List

“Quiet town, quirky but something to remember, best whale watching”

Cindy K - Trip Advisor - June 30, 2013

This was a stop on our cruise and it was a tendered port. The tender was only 2 minutes. The local people are really into their history and very willing to share. We signed up for a brown bear search and whale watching trip, two different excursions with two different guides. Our guide for the bear search was a Tlingit native, Jacob, who taught us the language and had a sense of humor. Now that we've been away from the excursion I have to say we remember that pretty clearly. On that tour we saw a mama brown bear with her two cubs. Priceless. We grabbed a bite to eat at the Cookery, the burgers were fine and the shrimp wraps were great. For the whale watch, there are more people booked than they have seats, so make sure to get there early or you will be standing or without a seat. We ended up standing which was okay since it wasn't raining and we could quickly get to the top deck when they opened it. We saw three different pods of humpback whales, over 14-16 different whales for over an hour. It was amazing to hear and see. One thing to note - the excursion brought us back after the time we were supposed to have already been back to our ship, so we were late. Of course they waited since it was a ship sponsored excursion but we were the last group to arrive back on the ship, they could have easily had us back on time. The what watchers also asked for crew tips, I don't like when the crew ask for tips. I tip for great service whether asked for or not, it just bugs me when they outright ask. Icy Point is a great whale watching stop with authentic shopping.

We feel we had a special treat

Jim Goff - September 28, 2012

Hello Johan, Alan Reilly and I were on the Amsterdam a couple of weeks ago and talked with you along the beach near the house you grew up in.  You showed us the metal used for reinforcing the shoreline.  You gave me your card and asked that I email you when we got home. We are back in Idaho now and have great memories of the cruise, with your hospitality being a high point.  Alan and I want to thank you for all the time you spent telling us about Hoonah and Icy Strait Point.  We feel we had a special treat that few tourists experience.  We wish our wives had been able to hear your stories, but we did pass them on as accurately as possible. Now that the summer is over and your town can take a rest from the cruise ships, I hope you have a chance to relax and continue to enjoy your beautiful island.  We hope to be able to visit Alaska again someday.  This was our third trip there and we have thoroughly enjoyed it every time. Thanks again for your kindness to a couple of strangers. Jim Goff

an education on Tlingit culture, a delightful surprise

Laurie and Max Sigel - August 4, 2012

Greetings: I just wanted to share that my son and I had such a beautiful experience with your guide Gary on our recent Wildlife & Bear Search.  We were at Icy Straight the first week of July, arriving on the Celebrity Millennium. I was not expecting to get an education on Tlingit culture and it was a delightful surprise.  We adored all of Gary's anecdotes, family stories and all the details he shared about Tlingit mourning rituals, the treatment of elders, the history of Honnah, how devil's club is used, etc.. He was a non-stop wealth of fascinating information.  He made the excursion truly special (oh, and we did also see a couple of bears and some eagles - haha).

Thank you!
Laurie and Max Sigel

This will be a lot of fun if you do your research and book some sort of excursion.

Azouma - From Trip Advisor - April 25, 2012

I visited Icy Strait Point as a port of call on a Celebrity Cruise. My advice to visitors to ISP is to plan ahead. This will be a lot of fun if you do your research and book some sort of excursion. I booked a whale watching cruise (saw lots of whales, possibly a sea lion, doll porpoises, even saw brown bears on shore, it was great!). Other revieweres have suggestions for other tours/excursions. As many reviewers have pointed out, this is really a "fake" port built for cruise ship use, but then again, I thought the museum was really interesting and truth be told, the shopping was some of the best I ran across the whole trip (the Hoonah High School has an excellent gift shop, all proceeds going to their students groups). There is a really nice walk through the forest just behind the museum and shop buildings (when we were there, some unlucky employees were standing around with pepper spray to guard us tourists, as a couple of bears had been spotted in the vicinity). The small town of Hoonah is about a mile away from the ISP, you can walk to it and probably there are some excursions that go there, but it's a small town so expectations should be kept in check. If you don't plan anything ahead of time you'll find yourself with lots of time on your hands as it takes a short time to cover the museum, shops and trail. If you plan ahead for something to do, you'll probably have a great time.

We did the ZipRider and it is unbelievable!!

Patty Riedel - April 21, 2012

We did this ZipRider and it is unbelievable!! A great thrill! And yes the view is gorgeous! Can't wait to return someday soon.

Thanks again for all you did to make my trip so great

Pat Daniels - October 28, 2011

 

Dear Julie,  I've always wanted to write and Thank You for taking me on the ride to the zip line.  It was so nice of you to take your valuable time. It was also a wonderful time listening to the stories of Icy Strait Point and about your life there. I was wondering what happened when your son finally arrived home. I'm sure you are so happy to have him home and away from danger.  My vacation to

Alaska was wonderful and the Zip Line was one of the highlights of my trip.  It was asume ! My doctor wants to put my picture of that asventure on his Web site. He thought it was great. I made points with my grandchildren.  I hope you have a great winter and Thanks again for all you did to make my trip so great.                               

Whale Watching tour we took from Icy Strait Point was FABULOUS

Brenda Crank - October 3, 2011

Just wanted to let you know the Allen Whale Watching tour we took from Icy Strait Point was FABULOUS and I can honestly say that Icy Strait Point was by far, the high point of our cruise. We were there September 20th 2011 on MS Amsterdam. Seriously, I loved Icy Strait Point and would recommend it highly. Greatest whale experience EVER.

Brenner's Fine clothing and Gifts at Icy Strait Point is fabulous!

Marion Howden - September 26, 2011

The Shop (Brenners Fine clothing and Gifts) at Icy Strait Point is fabulous and I only wish I would have know it would be the best one I came across in the ports of call we visited.  

Icy Strait Point was by far, the high point of our cruise

Brenda Crank - September 20, 2011

Just wanted to let you know the Whale Watching tour we took from Icy Strait Point was FABULOUS and I can honestly say that Icy Strait Point was by far, the high point of our cruise. We were there September 20th 2011 on MS Amsterdam. Seriously, I loved Icy Strait Point and would recommend it highly. Greatest whale experience EVER.

I did the ZipRider on my 72nd Birthday

Ray Goforth - June 23, 2011

I did the ZipRider May 18th, my 72nd birthday and had a ball.  Great ride.

When ever I get back to Icy Strait Point, I will go again.

You offer a great experience

Tim Lankin - January 23, 2011

"We had a fantastic time on the ziprider.  Everyone we met were very nice and made us feel welcome.  You offer a great experience and we look forward to coming back and doing it all again".

You are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful spot

Marcia Heinrich - December 16, 2010

"Of all the places on our recent Alaskan cruise, Hubbard Glacier and Icy Strait Point were my favorites.  You are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful spot."

"The zip line was one of the highlights of our trip."

Barbara Purcell - December 2, 2010

"The zip line was one of the highlights of our trip."

OH MY GOSH!!!!! THANKS ...

Wanda Pinto - November 22, 2010

OH MY GOSH!!!!! THANKS ...  CAN'T WAIT TO VISIT THERE AGAIN.  It was second time to be there. but I was toooooo scared last time to ride the zip,  now I will ride it again!  loved it.  Thank you so much and God Bless you and all who live there."

truly value customer service

Vanitha Gopal - September 13, 2010

"It's wonderful to know that there are companies that truly value customer service.  Your heart for what you do really showed.  I have a group of 10 friends about to visit Icy Strait Point in the next few days and I will certainly recommend the zipline and to purchase photos."

"I can't believe God gave one place such wonder"

Connie Benbrook - August 7, 2010

"I can't believe God gave one place such wonder.  It is so unbelievably beautifully in Alaska."

Thank you for a wonderful experience

Robert and Jean Davis - July 21, 2010

"We truly enjoyed our zip-line adventure.  I am 72 and my husband is 82 and we never thought we would ever do anything like this!  We had a wonderful time ~ what a thrill!!

 We want to congratulate all those at Icy Strait Point.  We were truly impressed with the operation.  Everything was so neat, clean and organized and the people were delightful. 

 Our visit was truly the highlight of our cruise to Alaska.  We have cruised Alaska four times, but this is the first time we have been to your area. 
 Thank you for a wonderful experience and for all your help."
 

We really loved it there!

Leslie Jarell - July 9, 2010

"We really loved it there! Everyone there was very nice and helpful!

Name:
Email:

We won’t sell your email address. We just want to stay in touch!